User roles and permissions

This article is from before the rebranding to SelfGuide. Text and images can include the old product name ProductivityPerformer or its abbreviation PP.

A user gains permissions in SelfGuide based on the role assigned to the user. All new users are assigned the role User automatically when created, an admin within SelfGuide can change the role of a user to give more permissions. Available roles and the corresponding permissions are listed below:

Available roles

Available roles within SelfGuide:

  • User: uses the product to learn and get answers
  • Editor: creates and maintenance content in SelfGuide
  • SelfGuide-Manager: keeps an eye on the usage, the process and organizational policy towards SelfGuide
  • Admin: responsible for the administrator of the product

Permissions

Each role incorporates specific permissions and roles follow a hierarchy where an higher role also incorporates the permissions of all lower roles. For example, an Editor gains the permissions for the Editor role and the User role. The hierarchy of roles and incorporated permissions are below from lowest to highest:

User
  • Read Instructions
  • Practice Exercises
  • Read User guides
  • Read Courses
  • Give feedback
Editor
  • All permissions of the User role
  • Create, edit, update and delete Instructions
  • Create, edit, update and delete Exercises
  • Create, edit, update and delete User guides
  • Create, edit, update and delete Courses
  • Read and close feedback
  • Read Instruction ownership
  • Synchronize Instructions with the TOPdesk knowledge base
  • Manage Instruction assignments on Content Channels
SelfGuide-Manager
  • All permissions of the Editor role
  • Edit Instruction ownership
Admin
  • All permissions of the SelfGuide-Manager role
  • Manage content packs
  • Manage users
  • Manage Content Channels